Year 3 Wrangler-In-Chief

Spring Term, Week 1

I’ve talked a couple of times on twitter and on my blog about daily/ weekly reflections, and how they’re helping me manage a difficult class, who demand that I’m on top of my game the whole time. So, without further ado, here’s this week’s highlights, lowlights, and aims for next week.

Positives:

  • My class slipped straight back into their routines, from 8.50am on Monday onwards. All that hard work last term paid off – you would never guess they’ve had two weeks off!
  • A great coding lesson on Thursday – the class got a lot from it, and were far more creative than I thought they would be.
  • A good emphasis on persistence from me has led to some great work from them. I showed them Austin’s Butterfly, a short video from the US about refining and improving work to get a fantastic end result. The film made me think, and has obviously had an effect on the kids, as every time I remind them about keeping on working on something, I tend to get the reply, “you mean like Austin’s Butterfly?”. This has been particularly effective in Literacy, where I wanted them to write a 1 or 2 sentence description of a winter landscape – we started with vocabulary gathering, and ended up with sentences that included things like “icicles hanging dangerously”. IT’s also worked well in PE, where pupils worked on making 3 part sequences (jump, balance, roll), and were giving each other feedback with no prompting from me.
  • Personally, I’ve coped well with being ill this week, which has meant arriving into school far later than usual two days this week. Normally that would have me in a total panic all day, but actually things have gone really smoothly. It probably helps that I’ve taught a lot of what we’re doing this week a few times before, so it just sort of happens!

Negatives:

  • To follow up from that last point, my ill health has left me very tired (due to lots of antibiotics), so my behaviour management has, quite frankly, sucked! I definitely need to recover my ‘zen’ for next week – it’s been too much (over)reaction this week, and not enough thinking and anticipating.
  • Extension tasks (lack of): a few times this week, my high fliers have whizzed through their tasks and not had enough to do to push them on that bit further.

Aims for next week:

  • Anticipate rather than react to behaviour. Essentially, be more zen.
  • Provide some decent extension tasks. I found a great question creation grid on twitter this week, courtesy of @vo2learn, so I might use that to create some higher order questions to challenge those more able children:

question grid

So, a mixed week. It’s never good being ill the first week back (migraine + cellulitis = zero fun), but I feel like I’ve coped well, and I’ve been amazed at how the kids have just slipped back into their routines with very few problems. Here’s to bigger and better things next week!

Comments on: "Spring Term, Week 1" (4)

  1. What an interesting post. I think the best teachers are those who reflect honestly and plan accordingly. I’ve not heard of Austin’s butterfly before. I’m off to check it out 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment. The Austin’s Butterfly clip made me think quite hard about what kids are truly capable of, with the right support and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

